Is this the best format?

Graci

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Greetings ~ I'm a newbie and need a little direction regarding digital photos taken by a professional photographer at my daughters 5/16 wedding.

Daughter hired a (unknown) photographer to take 6 hours of photos. They were promptly delivered on a disc unedited. We plan to edit (crop, sharpen, etc.) ourselves using a basic photoshop element software program.

My question #1 is: They were saved in JPEG file format and after reading many of these post, I'm not sure if this was the best format in order to make the best edits that we would like. Remember I'm a newbie & I'm confused as to what I need to communicate to the photographer so that I get the best format to edit possible. Or would a file format that takes tons of space even have been a possibility since she is not the person doing the editing.
Question #2: Does 300 x 480 sound like a decent dpi?

Do my questions make sense? Thanks in advance!!

-Graci

300x400 sounds like pixels...and that is not very good at all...you at most might be able to print 4x6's out of them...and the editting will be tough with files that small...Jpegs would be fine for your editting, but you would need high resolution files

Receiving JPEG files from the photographer is not a problem. They should hopefully be taking the photos in RAW, but giving you JPEG should be OK.

As for the size of the images (in pixels)...you would want something more like 3000x4000 (or whatever)...but 300x400 is only good for viewing on a computer, not printing.

Receiving JPEG files from the photographer is not a problem. They should hopefully be taking the photos in RAW, but giving you JPEG should be OK.

As for the size of the images (in pixels)...you would want something more like 3000x4000 (or whatever)...but 300x400 is only good for viewing on a computer, not printing.

most wedding photographers shoot raw as well as jpeg?