ISO 400 with ISO 50 film?

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by jophassa, May 26, 2006.

  1. jophassa

    jophassa TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    OK, so i splashed out and got myself some B&W film. One of the films has is 50 ISO. Does that mean that the film can only be used at 50 ISO or what? Thanks
     
  2. thebeginning

    thebeginning TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I wouldn't recommend pushing iso 50 film. it's fine grain film, that's what it's for. if you want ISO 400 film why not get ISO 400 film? you can push ISO 100 film to 400, but pushing ISO 50 film seems silly...
     
  3. jophassa

    jophassa TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yeah, but what happens if you are in a situation when you have to?

    What i mean is if you buy 36 exposures, you cant be sure that for the whole time you are taking pics you will need ISO 50.
     
  4. PopPicker

    PopPicker TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South East Australia
    Good point... but you can't change horses mid stream. Once it's been used at 50 it has to stay that way. And I agree 50 ISO film does not push process well.

    You're better off having specific films for specific purposes and if you want to change then rewind the film carefully after making a note of what exposure it was on and loading the desired film. When you're finsihed with that one unload as before and reload the previous one and wind on a couple past where it was before. You do that with leaving the lens cap on setting the camera to manual exposure and manual focus and click away.


    There you go ...clear as mud.


    PP
     
  5. Unimaxium

    Unimaxium TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northeastern University, originally from Philly
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It's a very bad idea to take different parts of a roll at different ISOs. You'll end up with part of the roll exposed properly and part of the roll either overexposed or underexposed. And with a 3-stop difference like the that between 50 and 400, the improperly-exposed part will produce pretty disappointing results. It is possible to push a whole roll of film from 50 to 400; that is, you expose the film as if it were 400 film and then develop it for longer than normal so that the final negative is of proper density. However, this does come at the cost of quality (you'll have larger grain and higher contrast, for example). Like Daniel said, pushing from 50 to 400 isn't recommended. If I had a partly-exposed roll of ISO 50 film in my camera and ended up in a situation where I absolutely had to expose at 400, I would rewind the roll of film and put a roll of 400 in (if you remember what frame you were at, you can always put the film back in your camera and expose the rest of the roll at a later date).

    edit: looks like poppicker hit the submit button while I was still writing my post ;)
     
  6. jophassa

    jophassa TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    i hate it when that happens.

    Yeah, ok, so if i rewind the roll of film all the way back to exposure 1 i can take it out without risk of damage?
     
  7. PopPicker

    PopPicker TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South East Australia
    ooops sorry unimaxium
     
  8. PopPicker

    PopPicker TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South East Australia

    Yes you can. What camera have you got?
     
  9. Unimaxium

    Unimaxium TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northeastern University, originally from Philly
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    no, if you rewind it back to exposure 1 you'll risk damaging exposure 1 (and perhaps 2 and 3 as well). What you want to do is rewind it so that the film leader is sticking out (as it was when you first bought the roll of film), rather than rewinding the film all the way into the canister. If you have a manual-wind camera, you can do this by feel (you can feel when the film breaks free of the right spool and becomes loose, then it's safe to open the camera). If you have an automatic-winding camera, it may have a setting to leave the film leader out, which you will want to turn on. If you accidentally end up winding the leader back into the canister, there are devices you can get or make to fish it back out (a google search should produce good results).

    edit: lol, poppicker beat me again!
     
  10. jophassa

    jophassa TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yeah, sorry, that's what i meant. But...what do i do when i want to start using that one again? How do i go about getting it back to say....exp. 23?

    PP, my camera is a currently a Canon A-1 but will soon be an EOS 3000.
     
  11. Unimaxium

    Unimaxium TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Northeastern University, originally from Philly
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What I would do is set the shutter speed at its fastest setting and the aperture at its smallest setting, and with the lens cap on advance enough frames until you were back at 23 (you might want to advance for good measure to 24 just to make sure you're not overlapping on any previous exposures)
     
  12. PopPicker

    PopPicker TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South East Australia
    Does your camera rewind the end of the film back into the cassette or leave a little bit out?

    PP
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does iso 400 film have a larger course grain than iso 50 film?
,
film photography iso 50
,

iso 50 film

,
iso 50 vs iso 400
,
push iso50
,
pushing iso 100 film to 400 iso grain size
,
pushing iso 50 film
,
what can i do with iso 50 film
,
what does iso 50 mean
,
which film would have larger and coarser grain, iso 400 or iso 50