jumping in

fightheheathens

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So, if this just sounds stupid, let me know now. (i mean ill probably try anyway but at least ill have some heads up)

i live in the bay area of CA which has a pretty happening music scene. By day i am a mild mannered chemist and by night i am a muscian. I'm thinking about seeing if i can get gigs shooting music venues or other aspects of photography dealing with music. As a musician i feel like there probably is a market for this, When i have played gigs before, its nice to have good pictures and i think there may be bands out there looking for cover art or more professionally done photographs so they can advertise their band. (by professionally done i mean a friend with a small point and shoot didnt take pictures)
im only interested in having some fun, seeing some bands, mostly meeting people in bands so i can get more in to the actual playing part of the music scene and maybe while im at it, making some small cash on the side.
I wouldnt want to be doing this every night, optimal would be one band a month or so.

my questions are
do you think there is a market for this?

where would i advertise
-i've looked at craigslist and thought about going on word of mouth. (AKA do a show or two free and give the band some nice impressive prints and get them to tell other bands they know etc etc)

and finally have i lost my mind?

I think this is a GREAT idea!!!
I'd say craigslist for sure. I think they have a section for 'creative'. Try posting something in there.
I've never had much luck taking pictures of bands (4 rolls of film GONE.. like THAT) but if you can take some good shots then go for it.

My brothers in a band and I've been to a few amateur nights before.

Personally this is what I would do.