Just a thought

giorgio

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a newbie in photography

But I'm starting to think that a high performance ISO capabilities in the camera is the key to easy up just like the 80% of the work of getting great pictures, that is, take the picture and then increase the magic with the Computer, and that's it.

I'm saying this because I purchased months a go a Nikon D80 with a 18-135mm lense, it sat there like 3-4 months until I had the chance to study and know how to use it in manual.
(and like 3 flashes, umbrellas etc.), and I'm pretty much not too convinced of how the photos come up with just the camera itself on poor light situations...,
Like in our Christmas Dinner with the family in the living room.
I added a Remote Flash (SB-600) and even though it was suposed to be light balanced(histogram) it just looks like crap.

Granted, I'm a newbie, but just of thinking of all the stuff needed to set up just to have the best lighting possible, or hey, maybe sometimes is just not doable according to the lights conditions and the type of camera.
That's not nice when trying to take photos of people reunions, on natural situations and so on.

I see photos of weddings, casuals, etc. from great photographers's websites and wonder what % of that beauty is by the camera and what % is by the computer.
Because, I already have the computer, but I don't know if I have the camera.

O well, just a little rant, but I'll check it out, is just that is kind of frustrating to look around and learning and strugling when maybe with a camera with a 6000+ ISO or more will do.

Here's an example:

navidad_2009.jpg

Actual size:
navidad_test2009.jpg

Nikon D80
JPG
Focal lenght 26mm
F/5
1/10
ISO 1250
Metering Mode = Pattern
Light Source = Thungsten
Exposure Program = Manual
Exposure compensation = 0

Salutes

Last edited:
All iso performance does is remove noise from high iso photos, allowing you to use faster shutter speeds.