just bought DSLR.. first pics

johentie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey just got myself a Canon XSi to start off with.. i am really taking this seriously as i wanna do it as a side job in the future..

i attending classes in the summer and learning how to edit photos of people, landscapes etc

but here are some pics i took the first few days i had it.. please comments and critique as much as u like!

cake.jpg

5.jpg

3.jpg

n509886042_2468563_698.jpg

n509886042_2468551_6549.jpg

i had trouble with low light shots at a performance ; < they suck real bad

n509886042_2468558_8913.jpg

n509886042_2468559_9336.jpg

I quite like 4 but id crop the left sideback to his elbow area, seems to be too much on the left which is distracting

i'm a noob too, but the low lights ones, generally set the ISO higher and aperture wider (lower f number), so you have have a faster shutter speed. full auto without flash in these situations will usually give you too long of an exposure.

:grumpy: no more comments?

they are either good or terrible haha

umm, the child photo is the definite winner for me.

For honest critique, the rest are pretty blah.
I'll go ahead and give you feedback on these, though if you had numbered them it would be a bit easier.

1. White balance seems a bit off, probably because of the candlelight. Also the vent and dog detract from the photo. I think the dog is cute, but if the focus is on the cake then the out of focus puppy competes with/detracts from it a bit.