Just purchased Rebel XT, I need help with lenses on shooting school sports shots

dreamweaver

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a total newbie to the SLR world. I recently purchased a Canon Digital Rebel XT (DSLR). I received the lens that comes with it.

I have searched and searched thru many pages of reviews on other websites and came up with different conclusions to lenses.

First of all, I cannot afford a Canon L lens, not sure I would want one either, they are white, stick out like a store thumb and heavy, I would have to tripod them, which I do not want to do.

I have heard that you need to get down into the f/2.? range to get the speed you need for sports shooting. Again the L lenses have these, but I just do not see anything else having these but the L lenses.

I know there are other brands of lenses that fit my camera, like Sigma, Tamaron, there might be more. I did see a Canon Zoom Lens: EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, which appeared to be a great overall lens, but then the f/ range would not be good enough to stop sports action. Again this is just for high school sports (girls).

Does anyone have any suggestions at all for me. I would prefer to have something not real heavy, not 50 inches long, not white, just something preferably smaller (except when it zooms) to reach the distance, black in color, and have the speed that I need.

Sorry for this post being so very long. I cannot afford anything much over $500 price range.

Thanks so much :)

Welcome to the forum.

As you seem to have found out...shooting sports requires a large (or fast) aperture because that will help to give you fast shutter speeds which you need to stop the action. Of course, with sports shooting, you are usually off to the side (side line) so you need a longer lens. The combination of large aperture and long focal length makes for very expensive lenses...usually much more expensive that your camera.