Just Starting...Do I have a decent camera?

dmmackey91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am just starting out in photography...Its incredibly fun and a great way to be creative. I just have a couple of questions. I got the camera from my dad...its a Sears KS500. Is it a good camera?? And what kind of Macro lens would you recommend? Thanks everyone for your input! :D

It's pretty old, but there's nothing wrong with that. It has everything you need to learn photography. It uses K-mount lenses, which is the lens mount for Pentax lenses. Other lens manufacturers also make K-mount lenses.

To me macro means you can get a 1:1 ratio. This means if you photograph a coin it will be actual size on the negative. Many lens manufacturers claim that their lenses are macro lenses, but they aren't 1:1. Make sure you are getting a lens that will do what you want.

I think in your case, if you have a 50mm for the camera, I would look for first, K mount extension tubes which would help make your 50mm a macro lens, or try some of the magnifying filters before investing in a macro lense.

As long as your old KS500 operates properly, it will serve you well.

In fact, when asked by friends about what type of film SLR I recommend for learning photography… I typically suggest the purchase of a camera like yours. More specifically, of the same vintage.

My logic behind this recommendation?

1. Older film SLR’s of this type are relatively inexpensive to purchase on the used market. Ebay is chock full of these older cameras (often with a nice selection of lenses), for a few hundred bucks. If the “photography bug” withers and dies, a ton of money is not lost to the dust collecting top shelf of a junk closet.