katoboe.com

katoboe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone! I am a budding photographer and want to expose my website through this Forum!

I am new to this Forum and would appreciate the exposure and advice on establishing my new photography business.

Please visit my website: katoboe.com and let me know what you think.
Please know that I am eager for the exposure and feedback on content and subject matter.
Please contact me on my contact page and please spread the word!

Thanks!

Kat

Kat,

IMO, you are not yet ready to charge for your work.
Your photographs are not well done and the website looks very amateurish.
I'm sorry if this is painful to read but I could not honestly say anything more positive.

Moved to the appropriate forum.

While Lew's post is rather blunt, I agree completely. Your images may be fine as personal snap-shots, but they're not close to being 'professional' IMO. My suggestion would be to take the business side of things off-line, and work on the basics.assuming you already have the necessary licensees, insurance, business plan, etc take 4-6 months and spend it working on learning posing, composition, exposure and post-processing.

Concurrent with that, I recommend the following changes in your website:
-New bio pic; the current one is out of focus and poorly composed; if photography is supposed to be your trade, what does this image say about your abilities?

-Lay your 'site out so that people don't have to scroll vertically. People are lazy, if they don't see it right away, they probably never will.

-You have less than 3 seconds to 'hook' a potential client. Your home page gallery has a bunch of pictures of leaves; if I want a headshot, what is there on that page to hold me?

-Payment information doesn't belong on your bio page

-Almost none of the images you are displaying currently belong on a professional 'site

-Your home page has multiple repeats of the same image.