Kenko Teleconverters

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Talonted90, Mar 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Talonted90

Talonted90 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey all,
    I recently acquired a Nikon 80-200 f/2.8D ED lens push/pull version. I've never used the push/pull before this but really don't mind it at all. I will definitely be keeping this lens for some time while money does not permit the purchase of a longer reach lens with comparable speed. I would like to add a teleconverter to my set and it's my understanding that the Nikon teleconverters will not allow AF. I have decided on going Kenko for the price and overall reviews. I was wondering of the 1.4x and 2.0x Kenko Pro300 teleconverters, which do people prefer for overall IQ performance. Or if anyone has any other recommendations I am open to suggestions.

Andrew

2. PhotoXopher

PhotoXopher TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    1.4x is what I've heard, sorry I don't have any personal experience to back it up though. 2.0x is still very acceptable, but at a slight cost in IQ and more light loss as well, again not from experience.

You've probably read everything I have regarding this so I'll just back out and watch the thread since I'm interested in one of these myself and was leaning toward the 1.4x.

3. icassell

icassell TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    In general (and I have no direct experience with Kenko), you want to avoid a 2X TC on a zoom lens, whereas a 1.4x can often do a respectable job. I find this definitely to be the case with both my Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 and with my Sigma 100-300mm f/4. IQ is far superior with the 1.4X than with the 2X.

I don't know for sure with Nikon lenses, but Canon lenses will AF with a TC if the maximum aperture is no smaller (higher f#) than f/5.6. In your case with an f/2.8, I would expect AF to work with the 2X.

4. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit