Kind of intimidating to post my own pictures, but I'd love to hear opinions

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by joeysmom, Oct 1, 2009.

1. joeysmom

joeysmom TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am just a hobby photographer, and my dear hubby just bought me a new DSLR camera that I am still using as a point and shoot, since I don't know much yet. My favorite subject is my beautiful daughters and recently I did a senior photo shoot of my middle girl. I found it challenging to get good shots of two living beings!

1.[​IMG]

2. [​IMG]

3. [​IMG]

4. [​IMG]

5. [​IMG]

6. [​IMG]

2. PhotoXopher

PhotoXopher TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Not bad!

Is that a BC Rich Warlock guitar? If so, I haven't seen one of those in years...

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

There is certainly some potential here but also a few things to work on.
    Firstly, work on your exposure. Use the EC (exposure compensation) and experiment with more or less exposure that what the camera is giving you. In most of these shots, her face is not really as bright as it could/should be....try adjusting the exposure so that the model looks best.

Watch your composition and framing. In a couple of them, there is too much dead space above her head and I think they would look better if they were shot or cropped closer.

Lastly, think about adding some fill light. It can brighten up your model and add some nice catchlights to their eyes. You could use a reflector to bounce some light back onto them, or try using your flash.

4. joeysmom

joeysmom TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    It's my son's, and he let her use it while he's in the army. He bought it with E-coli settlement money he got when he turned 21! Here's another shot of it. He just told us it's a resonator.
    [​IMG]

5. joeysmom

joeysmom TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit