Kinda Newbie to Shoot Movie Stills

AnneRiceBowl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A friend of mine who is an independent filmmaker and producer has asked me to shoot stills for his next movie (shooting starts at the end of June).

The story takes place after closing hours (between 2 and 4AM), so I will be shooting in low light. I can't add my own lighting, and I am going in almost blind on this. I also mu st be like stealthy ninja while on the set so as not to add to the soundtrack being recorded and not to distract the actors and other people on the set.

My plan is to dress in slacks because denim likes to made its own noise(s) and wear darker clothing.

As far as what I will be shooting with, well, the only things I have at the time of this posting are a Canon EOS Rebel XS, the kit lens, and a telephoto lens. So, do I shoot with a wide aperture and high ISO for a situation like this?

I am still learning technicalities, so don't be gentle.

haha! I know! I posted that and realized what the hell I did...der...

I suppose I will go ahead and ask if there is anything I can do about shutter noise.

Making stills during takes with an SLR will be noisy. Better to use a P&S/rangefinder/bridge - i.e a camera without a mirrorbox. High ISO needn't be strictly necessary - if its a film-set illuminated for work, you can make pictures using it in the same way. Documenting the event between takes, an SLR would be fine. I think you need two cameras for this, one of each type.

+1 what Dallmeyer said.

Shooting with a dSLR when they are making the movie requires a your camera be in a blimp to contain the mirror slap and shutter sounds so they don't wind up on the soundtrack.

what

You can rent one.

Alrighty, apparently I was completely wrong on the scheduling of filming.
Filming starts at 4 AM Sunday morning on June 6th! I thought it wasn't until the last weekend of this month when I return from shooting a wedding in Arkansas.