Kinda Upset....

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by benpsut, Jul 2, 2008.

1. benpsut

benpsut TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    But I gotta keep trying. Once again I don't take things slow and just fire away at the shutter :) :) lol

[​IMG]
    nothings really in focus except the house, should have closed the aperture more than it was.

WHY all this noise even at an ISO of 100? I'm no COMPLETE beginner, been doing this for a little over a year and am really shocked at the noise. I cleaned the lens before i shot this, and the ISO was at 100. I shot this at 1 hour and 4 minutes with the aperture set a F9. Possibly because of the long exposure?

[​IMG]

Any help on the 2nd one would be appreciated, I know what i did wrong on the 1st one, just thought id share. Also here are some from a few days ago...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Ben :mrgreen:

2. Slaphead

Slaphead TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Re no. 2. I'm fairly new to this but I think an exposure for 1 hour 4 minutes even on the lowest ISO setting is going to mean noise. In fact given the exposure length I'm impressed that it's not noisier.

3. TamiyaGuy

TamiyaGuy No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I think long time exposures can generate "hot pixels", which are individual pixels completely red. Slaphead's right, though, I'm impressed it isn't noisier.

All of the images seem to be a bit underexposed, but other than that, nice work!

4. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Why be upset? You've already identified the problem, you need to slow down and (if you'll pardon the pun) focus on what you're doing. The award-winning image you see in a gallery, or full-page ad in Sports Illustrated? You can bet that one image is the result of hundreds of megabytes of deleted data, and hours of work. Just like a painter doesn't create a masterpiece in two minutes, nor is a photograph (usually).