Kodak Instamatic X-15

Cinka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all. I'm a commercial photographer for an internet site using purely digital, but I recently picked up a Kodak Instamatic X-15 which uses 126-film. I'm interested in seeing what kind of pictures I'll take with an older point and shoot, but I had a couple of questions.

Do I have to take the 126 film to a professional lab for developing or can Sav-On still do it?

The camera came with two Magic Cubes in a box taped to the camera...I'm assuming these are four flashes per cube?

Is 126 film still readily available or do I have to scour the world for cartridges? What about magic cubes? Where can I find those?

Also, if anyone has any information regarding usage in general, I would be much obliged.

Thanks!!

You can still get it according to Wiki, but it is hard to find.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/126_film
You will probably need to process it yourself but this place might help.
http://www.retrophotographic.com/

They stopped making Magicubes a while back but you can still find old stock for sale if you look. The camera will need a battery to fire the thing and that might pose a problem. Some of the special batteries used are no longer available.

I don't quite see a place for batteries on the x-15 - am I missing something?

Yeah, it looks like I might have to find everything online or definitely do some hunting in my area.

March 07 was the last production run Solaris 126, the supply should last about 3 years, any mini-lab should be able to process the film, but my will not want too because of unfamiliar will now to handle it.

i also have an x-15 and for this specific model there is no battery. luckily because as said before no one is making them.

the film can easily be found at filmforclassics.com but is super pricey! there may be others but that is where my local shop told me to go.