Landscape HDR with my New D7100.

Discussion in 'Landscape & Cityscape' started by Xpertss, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. Xpertss
    Offline

    Xpertss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    One of the shots from Saturday's trip to lost lake. Had to put the D7100's HDR feature to the test.

    [​IMG]
    Lost Lake, Hood Rover, Oregon by Xpertss Photos, on Flickr

    What you think?
  2. 480sparky
    Offline

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,845
    Likes Received:
    5,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,171 / 0
    Perfectimo!
  3. Richichi
    Offline

    Richichi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    It's a nice shot but I'm curious on the details - how many frames w/settings ?? Did you do the HDR composite in camera ? if so did you do same out of camera to test the results? I just picked my D7100 up a few days ago and haven't had a chance to go out with it.
  4. Tailgunner
    Offline

    Tailgunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +235 / 0
    I have the same questions.
  5. Xpertss
    Offline

    Xpertss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I used the the built-in HDR feature and set the HDR strength at "High". Shot the image in the Shutter priority and metered with caemra as well.

    Does this answer the question?

  6. 480sparky
    Offline

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,845
    Likes Received:
    5,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,171 / 0
    Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
    Camera Model: NIKON D7100
    Lens: 10.5 mm f/2.8
    Image Date: 2013-06-01
    Focal Length: 10.5mm (35mm equivalent: 10mm)
    Aperture: f/2.8
    Exposure Time: 0.0003 s (1/3200)
    ISO equiv: 100
    Exposure Bias: none
    Metering Mode: Matrix
    Exposure: shutter priority (semi-auto)
    White Balance: Auto
    Flash Fired: No (enforced)
    GPS Coordinate: undefined, undefined
    Copyright: XPERTSS PHOTOGRAPHY
    Software: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4.4 (Windows)
  7. Tailgunner
    Offline

    Tailgunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +235 / 0
    Cool, I honestly didn't know about the built in HDR feature. I'm going to check it out torrow.
  8. EDL
    Offline

    EDL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Is it just the way the composition is, or does anyone else see a fair bit of barrel distortion?

    Don't get me wrong, I like the shot, just looks like there's some barrel distortion to me.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Xpertss
    Offline

    Xpertss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Yes, only down side is that you have to go in to the settings and change from raw or raw+jpeg to JPEG only in order to use the HDR feature.

    Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
    Camera Model: NIKON D7100
    Lens: 10.5 mm f/2.8
    Image Date: 2013-06-01

    EDL, I shot this with a fisheye lens and manually flatten it using Lightroom. I kind of like the minimal barrel distortion and didn't want to flat the image all the way.

    Thanks

  10. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    33,985
    Likes Received:
    4,046
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,048 / 0
    Some of the shadows are blocked or still under exposed, a typical limitation of in-camera HDR.
    Nikon's HDR uses just 2 exposures. Choosing the HDR Strength determines the difference in the exposure between the 2 shots.

    Coupled with the limitation of using JPEG instead of Raw files, the in-camera HDR feature is like the other in-camera JPEG image settings like contrast, saturation, and sharpening - pretty crude.
  11. Richichi
    Offline

    Richichi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    To see if the feature is worthwhile it would have been nice to see a comparison hdr done with stand alone software - letting the camera think which is best might not be so good
  12. NancyMoranG
    Offline

    NancyMoranG Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Anywhere we want! Just us And the RV
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    Does the d7000 have the HDR 'mode'? I looked in my manual and didn't see it. Not a loss as I am not ready for it yet, but curious.
    N
  13. Richichi
    Offline

    Richichi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    no nancy not in d7000 but it's new in the d7100
  14. 412 Burgh
    Offline

    412 Burgh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +191 / 0
    side note- how do you like the fisheye? I always wanted one.
  15. Xpertss
    Offline

    Xpertss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Burgh,

    It's one of my all time favorite lens. I find pictures more crisp with this lens frankly it barely takes space in the bag.

  16. exemplaria
    Offline

    exemplaria New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    How does in-camera HDR work on a DSLR? Does it actually take multiple exposures, save all those, and then combine them in-camrea and save that new image as well, so that you could do a compare with manual software? Or is it one mirror up - multiple exposures so you could in theory do it handheld? On my iphone for example, it just takes several exposures with one click so it can be done handheld. Not that the results are suburb but you get what I'm asking about.
  17. Tailgunner
    Offline

    Tailgunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +235 / 0
    All I know is the camera clicks off 2-3 times for every single depress of the shutter button...Series or Single setting. I haven't had time to view them on the PC yet and see what's up.
  18. Xpertss
    Offline

    Xpertss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    From the reading that I've done the D7100 only takes 2 shots and there are no setting that I can find to change that. unless you want to bracket the and do manual HDR


Share This Page