Landscape lense??

JNK8665

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a beginner photographer.
I have canon 30D. I want to know what would be the best canon lens to buy for LANDSCAPE photography. The types of photos I want are those images typically found on postcards: long boulevards, setting sun, the mountain range, valleys, etc.
The 17-85mm EF-S is being offered at a good discount, but don't know if that is a good lens for this. I would be prepared to pay more to get a good one. Help!
Thanks,
Johnny

Lens. Not lense.

I like my 14mm, but it's pricey. I'm not familiar with the 17-35, but if the quality is there, at 17 it should do a good job.

I usually use my 17-55 DX for landscapes, but I've been caught using my 80-200 a few times.

Landscape photographs are taken with all manner of lenses. Wide angle are popular, but if you can't get up close to the subject/scene then you'll want something with a longer focal length. What lenses do you already have? Didn't your camera come with something like a 17-50ish? If so a 17-85 has a bit more on the long side, but overlaps much of the focal length. You might want to look into something that goes wider than 17mm, or a 70-200/300.

Lens. Not lense.

Lense is an accepted spelling in most dictionaries, Wordnet (http://wordnet.princeton.edu), dictionary.com, etc....

Main Entry: lens
Variant: also lense /'lenz/
Function: noun
1 : a curved piece of glass or plastic used singly or combined in eyeglasses or an optical instrument (as a microscope) for forming an image
2 : a device for directing or focusing radiation other than light (as sound waves, radio microwaves, or electrons)