Laptop for photographers

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by NYSTalents, Aug 15, 2008.

1. NYSTalents

NYSTalents New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I am an advanced amateur photographer looking purchasing a laptop using on all my indoor and outdoor photo shoting, as I shot on the same time picture appear on the laptop monitor to check the quality of each shot and save. What type Laptop? Is Dell a good choice? Which hardware? Which Software?

Thank you
  2. icassell

icassell New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit

I use a Dell Latitude 830 with the WUXGA+ monitor option running XP Pro. I like it. I'd have preferred a Mac, but my work bought it for me and it's a good machine. I have 2GB of RAM and a DVD burner and it does fine with PS CS2.
  3. DragonHeart

DragonHeart Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I use a Gateway MX6920 with 2 GB ram and a Centrino DUO Core processor running Windows XP and CS3. Works great for me.
  4. Sandspur

Sandspur New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Either Macbook or Macbook Pro.

And Lightroom is probably the best choice for software.
  5. manaheim

manaheim Jedi Bunnywabbit Staff Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3,071 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
  6. icassell

icassell New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
  7. fabric

fabric New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    buy a mac. hardly ever EVER crash and viruses are practically a non-issue (natively)
  8. manaheim

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3,071 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Yeah, that sucker is so on my list. My Alienware 5100 needs to be replaced anyway. :)
  9. STICKMAN

STICKMAN New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    WOW Lenovo really put some thought into that baby!!!!!! But thats allot of cha ching for a laptop and im sure that price is way bottom of the line.
  10. Overread