Legal Issues regarding model use?

ramona

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a photography student that took pictures of my roommate in our apartment as well as in public places. Currently, 2 years later, we are not exactly on good terms and she recently emailed me saying that I needed to remove all the pictures that have her in them from my portfolio website. I don't have a model release form, as I never would have even thought about that in those days.
Am I stuck having to remove the photos? If it was one or two or even three photos I wouldn't mind removing the images. However, the images of her comprise almost my whole "portraits" portfolio, which is why I'm at least trying to find out if I have any hope of keeping them up.
Additionally, do things change if she's not recognizable? In some of the photos her face is not shown or she is largely obscured.
Any advice would be much appreciated!

YES!

Sorry. Consider this a lesson learned. Always get a release, no matter how friendly you are today.

Oops!

I may have responded too fast. What is this portfolio of yours? Commercial or fine art?

If Fine Art you could tell her to go to hell.

If commercial in any way, remove them.

It is fine art! I'm not selling them or publishing them. Just for use on my website.

Does she have the financial means to file suit? The sure thing to do is consult with an attorney familar with model release laws in your state. There are 50 different versions.

If you are just showing "your" images online you do not need a model release.

If you are using the images to promote yourself in a commercial sense, you need a model release for each image or a model release that covers specific dates or a date range that encompasses a time period.

More and more stock house now require a model release even if a persons face is obscured and/or people are not recognizable.