Legal Question

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by Goldeneyes, Jun 23, 2008.

1. Goldeneyes

Goldeneyes TPF Noob!

I recently did a event shoot for a group of people in Washington DC. Being a new photographer, I started extremely cheap, 100 dollars for 5 hours. An hour before the shoot, they cancelled but said I could come shoot anyway. I sent an email stating sure I would come (I had nothing else to do) I got some great shots and sent them a link from Picasa. With the email, I said they could use the photos if they included my name, company name and contact information. Didn't hear any word back from them. Afterwards, I found out they were using the photos without satisfying any criteria laid forth. Do I have any legal ground to stand on?

-Pedro

2. Village Idiot

Village Idiot No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You have it in writing (e-mail) the terms of which they could use the photos. They're violating copyright. You could threaten with legal action but unless you're good friends with a lawyer who's willing take your case for free, I'd think or another way to take care of it first. Where are they using the photos? If it's in another source like a magazine or website, call the magazine or site provider and tell them they're using copyrighted photos without permission and they might take their site down.

3. Goldeneyes

Goldeneyes TPF Noob!

Thanks for the quick response. They are using it on their website. In addition, I have it all via email. I also have pre-paid legal so I may ask them to quote me on some rates. Thanks for the confirmation though. Times like these are when my heads gets wrapped up in unnecessary details. TG for this forum though.

4. astrostu

astrostu Guest

(1) Send them a cease and desist e-mail or letter, reiterating the terms for their use, emphasizing that they are violating US and International copyright laws by using it without your permission.