Legal question

Blueharon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Let me start off by saying I'm a hobbyist. Not professional. Anyway a few years ago I worked at a Walgreens photo lab. The pictures on display sucked so I asked if I could print mine for display purposes. They said yes and I could take home the prints when they were done with them. Now I found out they are selling the photos. Is it worth it to fight them? How would I go about it?

Sounds like you need to contact a lawyer.

Let me start off by saying I'm a hobbyist. Not professional. Anyway a few years ago I worked at a Walgreens photo lab. The pictures on display sucked so I asked if I could print mine for display purposes. They said yes and I could take home the prints when they were done with them. Now I found out they are selling the photos. Is it worth it to fight them? How would I go about it?
acting as their employee, taking photos. displaying the photos in the store in the department you worked in.

You sure the photos don't belong to them ? you did take them or at least place them as a act of employment.

First things first.

What country you're in will determine any legal recourse available to you.

Since you mention Walgreens, I would assume US. So my next question would be if you registered the images with the US Copyright Office.

If that answer is "no", I'd say your pretty much hosed.

First things first.

Since you mention Walgreens, I would assume US. So my next question would be if you registered the images with the US Copyright Office.

i thought copyright was automatically assumed to be that of the photograph taker regardless of registration? i only questioned his employment consideration in establishing copyright. I don't know of anyone that has registered their photos.

First things first.