Lens Advice for 70D

regdawg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur shooter and just purchased a Canon 70D, got a great deal. I mainly take shoot our vacation trips, special events, our kids activites, some portraits, and our dogs. I occasionally shoot scenery stuff if it comes around. I purchased the 18-55mm STM kit. The only other lens I have is the EF-S 55-250mm lens (non STM) from my previous Canon.

Are there other recommended Canon or aftermarket (sigma, etc) lenses that I should consider adding to my arsenal?

I would think the Canon 18-135mm STM lens would be a good choice for walkaround and general vacation type shooting.

Last edited:
It all depends on what you want to spend I guess. I will be upgrading my 18-55 kit lens to a sigma 17-70 /2.8 soon, but it will be quite expensive :apologetic:

I would think the Canon 18-135mm STM lens would be a good choice for walkaround and general vacation type shooting.
Agree with the 18-135 range. I got the 18-135 USM as the kit lens with my 70D and have been very happy with it. I notice that it tends to spend the most amount of time on my camera and my others tend to stay in the bag more. It is a great lens for vacations or doing the tourist rounds.

Agree with the 18-135 range. I got the 18-135 USM as the kit lens with my 70D and have been very happy with it. I notice that it tends to spend the most amount of time on my camera and my others tend to stay in the bag more. It is a great lens for vacations or doing the tourist rounds.

I should have gone with the 18-135mm, darn it. Well in any case I have the 18-55mm so I'll stick with that for now. Maybe I'll upgrade to the 18-135mm in the future. Would anyone recommend perhaps the EF 50mm F1.8? I know its more for portraits which I'll probably be taking alot of my family. Or do you think the kit lens will do?