Lens advice (I'm sure you get this all the time)

mrnomas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
New to the forum and basically a noob in photography. The background of my question is this - I write for a living but upon occasion I have to take pictures. My entire experience with cameras has been point and click up until a year or so ago when I decided to upgrade to a Canon XT (which I decided on after searching this forum and reading a bunch). It came with the stock 18-55mm EF-S Lens which I've been fine with. Over the last year I've found the zoom to be less than adequate. Here's what I use the camera for:
  • In home and external shots of stationary gear (to go with my reviews) - usually from close range
  • Pictures of gear at tradeshows (sometimes from a distance but mostly close up)
  • Wide shots of people (again at tradeshows and other work functions)
  • Closeups and action shots of my kids and family (sometimes from a distance)
To say that I know nothing about lenses is really an understatement. I don't even understand the extent of my lack of knowledge. I just know that my accountant (aka the missus) has informed me that if I "need" anything work related, I should buy it now. I've decided I "need" a lens and I'm hoping that you could help me decide which would be the best. I've included everything I think would be relevant above other than price (I can probably spend in the multiples of hundreds but not the multiple of thousands) . If I've left anything out, feel free to ask.

I forgot to mention that there are times I'm taking pictures in very low light (during presentations and the like) if that makes a difference for the lens recommendation. I suppose I could pick up a lens and a flash. Just a thought.

Welcome to the forum.

Can you tell us what you find inadequate about that lens?
Do you want a different focal length, or more range...wider or longer?
Do you want to be able to get sharper shots (less blur) in low light, without using flash?