Lens and Large format camera advice

jaycee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I am a newbie to the forum. I'm looking forward to posting quite a bit more in the future!
I am in a bind right now and any advice would be very helpful. I just bought a Nikon D300 about 6 months ago and I am in the process of buying another lens. With the economy being what it is, I need to make the best use of my limited funds!
I usually photograph Urban landscapes, buildings and interiors, models, and natural landscapes.
I have an 18-135m lens that is not wide enough for my current needs.
I am considering either a Nikor 14-24 m 2.8 lens, or a 17-55m 2.8 Nikor lens. I should probably rent them each for a day first, but I have limited time to do so! I am wondering what is best for my uses? Is the 14m lens too wide (is that possible)? I do not wish to have any distortion or fish eye like shots.

Another issue I am having is that when I bought my camera, I thought all high megapixel, pricey cameras were capable of producing very large prints. I have good experience with art and I wanted to produce photographs that were like 4x6 feet wide and high.
To my dismay, I found out soon that my Nikon is only able to print to about 18x24 without looking too grainy and non-resolute. So, I believe I need to buy a large format camera. There is a class being offered at a local community college for large format cameras, as I have never processed my own film. Are the digital large format cameras far too expensive? Would the old school large format camera be the best option for me for making very large prints that are clear and resolute? And if so, does anyone have any advice as to what kinds of cameras and film to look for?

I apologize for being so uneducated! I hope to be where some of you guys are at in the near future. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
JC