Lens for Safari photography

RachelBell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im new to photography and am headed to South Africa for safari in October. I have taken some classes with a local photographer to get oriented with my camera (D3000) and am now in search of some good lenses to take on our trip.

I have the stock lens that came with my camera many years ago and a 50mm f/1.4 lens. Im in the market for a good telephoto but am not sure what the best choice would be. I plan to rent so I can afford to use a more expensive lens as I wont be buying new this time around.

Any suggestions?

I was looking at renting a D700 body to take with the D3000 and then renting a Nikon AF-S Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR that I found on borrowlenses.com.

Good plan? Do you have a better one?

Thanks for any input or advice you could give

Im new to photography and am headed to South Africa for safari in October. I have taken some classes with a local photographer to get oriented with my camera (D3000) and am now in search of some good lenses to take on our trip.

I have the stock lens that came with my camera many years ago and a 50mm f/1.4 lens. Im in the market for a good telephoto but am not sure what the best choice would be. I plan to rent so I can afford to use a more expensive lens as I wont be buying new this time around.

Any suggestions?

I was looking at renting a D700 body to take with the D3000 and then renting a Nikon AF-S Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR that I found on borrowlenses.com.

Good plan? Do you have a better one?

Thanks for any input or advice you could give