Lens help for a novice photographer

BatmansBabe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there.
Let me start out by saying I am a COMPLETE novice in photography. I know very little about the craft, but would like to make a career out of it, so I could use some help :)

So here's what I need help on now. I am looking for lens filters for my Zuiko 14-42mm lens, but I don't quite understand what "14-42mm" means. Does that mean I can get a filter that is between 14 and 42mm? Or does it mean something else? See, I really know nothing. I saw that the filters were categorized by size, but I didn't see one that was marked "14-42mm" so I am guessing I have to find something in between...? Please help a very confused beginner in this field. I would greatly appreciate any tips. Thank you.

-BatmansBabe (Emily)

Hi there.
Let me start out by saying I am a COMPLETE novice in photography. I know very little about the craft, but would like to make a career out of it, so I could use some help :)

So here's what I need help on now. I am looking for lens filters for my Zuiko 14-42mm lens, but I don't quite understand what "14-42mm" means. Does that mean I can get a filter that is between 14 and 42mm? Or does it mean something else? See, I really know nothing. I saw that the filters were categorized by size, but I didn't see one that was marked "14-42mm" so I am guessing I have to find something in between...? Please help a very confused beginner in this field. I would greatly appreciate any tips. Thank you.

-BatmansBabe (Emily)

Keep in mind the road to becoming a pro photograper is VERY LONG. So it will be five to ten years at best before you are good enough you can start charging.

14-42 is the zoom on the camera. The numbers are kinda pointless without anything to comare them to. But basically that lens goes from being very wide, to kinda normal zoom. If you want something to zoom in very far away, you'll have to get the 40-150.