Lens Help

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Ryanfru, Aug 19, 2008.

1. Ryanfru

Ryanfru TPF Noob!

Ok, I am kind of new to photography and I am wondering if I can get some assistance on lens choices. I am looking for lenses that I can shoot landscapes(wide angle would be mucho appreciated), portraits, and telephoto type stuff with. I will be moving up from my Panasonic DMC-FZ18 to the Rebel XTi if that matters too much in lens decisions.

Thank you :thumbup:

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome aboard.

What is your budget? Lenses range from $70 to $12,000.

3. Ryanfru

Ryanfru TPF Noob!

Ok yeah lol I should of included that. I don't wanna have to pay more than 250-300 for a lens considering I'm a broke college student.

4. Big Mike

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You won't get much for $300, in terms of quality lenses but you could probably put together a decent beginner's kit. I think the lens that usually comes with the Rebel cameras is the 18-55mm or maybe even the 18-55mm IS. This would be a good lens to start with. For a telephoto, the cheapest ones are the 75-300mm group. Canon has a couple and you can save a bit by going with a similar lens from Tamron or Sigma. That should be approximately $200. I would also suggest adding the 50mm F1.8 because it's large maximum aperture is something that either of those other lenses lacks. This one should be less than $100.

5. Ryanfru

Ryanfru TPF Noob!

Yeah I noticed my budget wasn't going to cut it so new question. What lenses are a must if I could just choose 1 or 2. I'll pay up to 400-550 for each.

6. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    What do you want to do with the lenses?