Lens Help

Morgan45

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! I am new here and I am itching to purchase a new lens. Just a little background about me: I am an amateur/hobbyist photographer. I just love being behind the camera but I am certainly not a professional. I have a Canon 70D DSLR.

I am looking for a new lens that is better in low light situations AND could be an everyday/walking around lens. Right now, I either stick 18-55mm on my camera because it can zoom and it is easier for others to use if they take a picture but the quality isn't great OR I stick my 50mm on it which I love but I have issues if I am in a tight space since the frame is so small and I still don't feel like it is the best in low light. (Although it has definitely made me a better photographer, if I want to go on a trip, I don't always want to be "limited" to my 50mm.)

Right now, I am looking at two lenses:
1. Cannon 24-105mm f/4L IS USM L Series Lens: My uncle has this and says it is great in low light but I have read otherwise (as far as moving subjects are concerned.)
2. Canon 35mm f/1.4: I have been itching to work with a 35mm and I heard it is good in low light but I wonder how limiting it is.
They are both at the same price point so I don't have to worry about that. This will be the most expensive lens I have bought so I want to make sure I get it right.

Just a list of what lenses I have right now:
Canon 50mm f/1.8(?)
Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
Tokina 12-24mm wide angle
Canon 55-250mm zoom

Oh and right now, I mostly take pictures of my toddler and food. You can take a look at my instagram to see what I mean: @everythinlist

Any help you could give me would be much appreciated!

If you are considering the 24-105 then you should have a look at Canon's 17-55 2.8 IS, its a really good general purpose walk around lens for Canon crop bodies.