Lens Hood and UV Protection Filter?

joesmithf1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

Newbie here and i have a lot of questions, but i'll start with the basic. I just bought my Canon T1i Kit with the EF-S 18-55mm lens. Should I purchase a lens hood and an UV Protection Filter? Is it necessary? If so, here are my questions:

1. Lens Hood - is a round hood better or a 'flower' hood better?
2. Lens Hood - plastic or rubber?
3. Lens Hood - any specific brand that you would recommend?
4. UV Filter - Polarized or non-polarized?
5. UV Filter - what materials would you recommend? Glass, plastic, etc.?
6. UV Filter -What brand is best? I read a post that said some filter causes 'ghostly' picture, so wanted to know what you guys uses.
7. Any other suggestions?

Thank you in advance!

Joe

Regarding UV filters...I don't have a single lens that I don't have one on. I have four lenses right now in my gear box and each one is equipped with a UV filter. I don't take them off - they stay on. They provide your lens (glass) with protection from dirt and debris not to mention UV. Furthermore, you get what you pay for. Personally, I have been using Sigma multi-coated UV lenses and like them. I've been tempted to try Hoyas though. Just out of curiousity more than anything.

Get a quality UV lens, screw it in place and forget about it! Good luck!

No and no.
Unless you plan on doing a lot of shooting into the sun you don't need a lens hood and for a cheapo kit lens you sure don't need a protection filter.
Some people think they need a hood to protect the lens, I can't begin to count the photos I have taken or the time I have spent with a camera in my hand and never, not once have I wished I had a lens hood on my camera when I did not.
I do photograph weddings so once in a while I do have to shoot into the sun so I carry a hood with me just in case but I plan ahead for that, if I didn't do it for money I wouldn't bother with the hood.