Lens recommendation for Nikon D300

LucyZ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a newbie but have decided to purchase the D300. I want a camera that will last for years. I am struggling with understanding lenses. Would it be better to buy just the D300 body for $1799.95? They offer two other packages. One is with a 18-135mm lens for $2099.95 and the other is with a 18-200mm lens for $2479.95. Can I get a better lens if I purchase it separately? Thank you!

the 18-200vr is a decent lens for all around shooting. Its not really specific for a good use though beside a carry around. Most would prefer a faster piece of glass. What do you intend to shoot? that would most likely help us help you when it comes to suggesting a good lens. I personally would get the body only, and if cost is not an issue (seems that way to me) look at the 28-75 2.8 or the 17-xx 2.8 (drawing blank)

That would be pro glass though.

I wouldn't buy either of those as a beginner.

You will have a spectacular camera body and you need to learn how to use it.

The 18-135 is not a very sharp lens and the 18-200 needs some experience to learn how to get good results from it.

I would start with a simple sharp lens like the 18-70 - no longer produced by available inexpensively on line. This is an incredible lens for the money (maybe the best that Nikon ever produced), very sharp and a reasonable zoom.

Once you learn what you want to do, you can start buying other lenses then.

Thank you for your replies. I like to shoot a variety of topics, street scenes, landscape, neices and nephews..etc. Unfortunately, money is an issue that is why if I am going to spend $500-$700 on a lens I want one that is fairly decent. If I can get a much better one, even if it costs a few hundred more, than it would be worth it to me. I am looking to make a good investment in quality equipement that will last.

That was just the answers that I received when I said I was going the D200 and 18-200 route last July.