Lens Recommendation for Nikon

catharsis3k

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a beginner at photography. My brother in law has a D80 and I've played a bit with it and really loved it so I decided to buy my own.

I've settled on the D90 to start with but I'm not sure which lens to get for it.

My brother in law will give me his 70-300 but I will still need an all-purpose lens I believe. So far here are my choices:

18-55
18-70
16-85

The 16-85 obviously is the most expensive but I'm wondering if I will really see a difference in 'daily' shots when compared to the 18-55

Any input is appreciated. Thank you!

I would go with the 18-70, I have owned that lens and it is a great lens.
I can't speak for the 16-85 but if you will also have the 70-300 I think you would be happy.

Well compared to the 18-55 yes you would see a difference. The 18-55 is the cheapest and nastiest kit lens Nikon makes. It is the type of lens you get given with your first camera and then get rid of as soon as possible.

The 18-70 is a great step up from it not only optically but also in build quality, and in usability. The 18-70 I would say would have to be one of the best budget lenses there is.

The 16-85 is basically the 18-70 with VR. Nothing too new here. If VR is worth the money for you then it's a good option, otherwise it has been show to be optically similar to the 18-70.

I have the 16-85 and the 70-300.

Both are VR. nice to have at times.

Both use the same size filters. Very nice to one set of filters.

The 16-85 is a very sharp lens.

The 70-300 tends to get a little soft on 300. But it's still nice.

I've never used the other too lenses. I know I didn't want the kit lens though.

If anything, I now wish I would have spent the money on a Tamron 16-50 f/2.8. I often wish I had the little extra for low light situations.