Lens?

dream rider

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a Pentax K1000 with a K-mount lens mount, and i was wondering if anyone could recomend a lens that i can get close to the subject with, and also have lots of DOF, please help me, im very new to the photography world, thanks!

Jeff

Sounds like you want a fast macro lens. Macro lenses allow your to get high reproduction ratios. All you'll need to do to get a high DOF is stop it down and light your subject well. I'm sure if you do a ebay search or check out bhaudiovideo or adorama you could find a grip of lenses that fit the bill for a variety of price ranges.

With an older style mount like the K1000, you'll prolly have better luck finding some exstension tubes to use with your existing lenses. Macros will be harder (and way more exspensive) to find. That's the route I'd go anyway.........

edit: and with any type of macro, lots of DOF is hard to come by

For the K-mount, there are two very popular macro lenses available. I have the 100mm pentax-M macro f/4. It was purchased at a local camera swap for $100. I've only shot a couple pictures but so far I am satisfied. Pictures could be better if I had a ring light. Lighting always seems so difficult with macro shots. The other macro lens is a 50mm macro. This lens was just slightly more expensive ( 10bucks or so ) then the 100mm macro. sorry no experience with it.

With the 100mm and 50mm macro lenses, your going to have a pretty shallow DOF. Depending on how close ( or the magnification ) of the subject, you might get away with a wide angle lens that has a very short minimum focal distance ( some post production cropping might be necessary ). This should give you more DOF than either 100mm or 50mm macros even at very small aperatures.