Lenses for my Olympus om-d e-m5

tsabary

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello guys,

I'm pretty new to photography, and the Olympus is my first camera.

I got it as a kit w/ the m.zuiko 12mm-50mm, and I was wondering if there's a wider lens that can be used on the Olympus for landscape photography.

I remember an online store that shows lenses by camera, but for some reason I can't find it now.

EDIT: I found the website it was LensHero.com. I also found a 7-14 f/4 lens that would cost a 1000$ !! so unfortunately I think I'll hold for now. If you guys have any other, more affordable, suggestion I'll be happy to hear.

AND two more questions:

1. Would that be a good ND filter?

https://www.schneideroptics.com/Ecommerce/CatalogItemDetail.aspx?CID=605&IID=3549

2. What tripod would you recommend for traveling? I'm 6ft and so far all I find gets only to 4.5 give or take, which I think would really bother me. Again, please keep affordable in mind ! around the 200$.

Thanks..!

Last edited:
try here for a wide variety of lens that can be used on that camera

Micro Four Thirds Lenses - HENNIGArts : Gear

Check out vanguard tripods, they are a newer player in this field but make a nice product that fits your budget.

A popular budget wide angle lens for m4/3 cameras is the Panasonic 14mm f2.5. Although not as wide as your kit lens, it is better suited to low light. Other wide lenses are far more expensive. Another budget minded alternative is a Samyang/Rokinon/Bower 7.5mm f3.5 fish-eye lens. Used properly it can be used for landscapes. Here are a couple landscapes with the 7.5mm:

$PA100037_38_39_40_41_tonemapped.jpg

$PA100077_78_79_80_81_tonemapped_tonemapped.jpg

Here is a sample shot with the Panasonic 14mm:

$P9180006.jpg

Here is a link to the 14mm on ebay:

panasonic 14mm f2.5 lens in Cameras & Photo | eBay

Hope this helps.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.