Lenses for smartphones? Camera worth buying over my smartphone?

ubernewb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've tried posting this a few other places. My question basically is why aren't the smartphone makers supporting bigger lenses (as attachments)?
I've found this site DcKina.com on it there's a lot of nice looking smartphone lenses. Now I've read the S4 won't work as well with this as other smartphone cameras ( I have an S4) . I did order some lenses and they work acceptably well. At least some of them. I've ordered a set from Amazon and one lens from the website above.

But, take note that on this website you'll find some phones have adapters that will allow us to use our good lenses. I'm not a professional photographer. I'm actually trying to find a way to use my smartphone until I can get around to a 5D.

From what I've read the lenses are the biggest reasons DSLR are even all that far ahead of smartphones. Now obviously there's the aperture and controls to consider. But, if smartphone makers supported additional camera attachments I cannot imagine we'd not be able to get some very exceptional pictures. Maybe even with these adapters. I've not yet purchased one. But, if anyone would like to do a test run I've seen 37mm adapters for a few phones. These adapters are about $5.

Now apart from this. I'm looking into a camera. I'd love to get the 5D there's a kit on Amazon with it for about $600. But, I'm curious what else would be suggested that might be cheaper? I'm a beginner when it comes to working with cameras. But, I know a few photographers and pay attention to many of the details.

There are a number of advantages a DSLR has over phone and p&s cameras: better depth of field (from a larger sensor) and much less shutter lag are two of them.