lenses for sports shooting

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by cowboyfranko, Aug 28, 2007.

1. cowboyfranko

cowboyfranko TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have recently wanted to get into sports photography and I have been looking at the sigma 70-200mm 2.8, but I dont have that kind of cash to drop on glass right now. Are there any decent lenses for sports that wont break my bank account as much as the sigma? I know I need one that is fast, but is 200mm necessary?

2. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit
    budget?
    type of sport? shooting billiards is going to be different than polo/football.

3. cowboyfranko

cowboyfranko TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Highschool sports(football,basketball,soccer,etc). My budget is around 400 maybe 500.

4. droyz2000

droyz2000 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I just started shooting some sports. To get real good action shots you are going to want to go with at least a 200mm lens. You may even want to save up more to get VR or IS because the last few times I have gone out and shot, the last bit of the game when it was reallly dark, the 2.8 was not fast enough, even when I had set my ISO to 1600.

5. keith204

keith204 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    VR or IS won't help with action shots (subject moving fast) but will help with camera shake.

I'd say save up a couple hundred more and get that Sigma you've been looking at. I was in the same boat as you, and ended up saving up a bit more to get that lens... and it was worth it. You'll enjoy the 2.8.

6. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit