Lenses

arsondesign

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So my parents have an old film rebel (Rebel 2000 EOS) and a couple lenses with it. I JUST got a Canon 20D and have the Canon 50mm f/1.8 II lens. I was wondering if I could use the lenses on the Rebel on my 20D? Sorry if this is a ridiculous question... I came home for the weekend WITHOUT my camera and considered taking the lenses since they aren't used much anymore I didn't want to attempt to put them on if they didn't fit and mess anything up with my 20D.

The two lenses are....
a Canon 20-80mm 1:3.5-5.6 II
and a Canon 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III

Also, I'm very new to photography and was wondering what these two lenses are best for as far as lighting and type of action being photographed and the quality of the image they produce...

Thanks!

yep, you can use them.

Lenses have no effect on the composition, the photographer does.

Well I read a review on the 20-80mm that said it was an absolutely awful lens and not worth wasting the time on... Just wondering why and how it was so awful, not so much about the composition of photos as that's purely arbitrary and not so much about lens quality. I shoot and will be shooting mostly high action in low light situations and the review said it performs poorly in non-daylight situations. It was a short review with a lot of questionable statements... so I didn't know if it held any truth to it.

both are relatively cheap and aren't going to wow you with their performance. Neither will perform well in low light. In the sun however, you shoudl be able to get some decent shots with them.
I'm assuming you understand aperture, so you shoudl realize that a small aperture on both those lenses means a slow shutter speed....means stuff better stay still and you should probably have a tripod unless there's lots of light.