License pricing question

skraller

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.wingsimaging.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a Real-Estate photographer and have only sold to Realtors with set pricing packages. I'm getting into other types of sales, such as website photos which need a license agreement, which I have never done before.

I have a customer wanting some new pics for their website and brouchers. I'm selling them 8 pics at $40 each with a two year license with a very wide scope of use for an extra $150.

They have never heard of needing a license from their previous photographer, which he wasn't good at all. So I'm having to introduce them to the concept that they don't own the pics and need to renew and repay for the pictures at the end of the license agreement.

They are interested in buying the copyright but the pricing I'm coming up with might be too much. I based the copyright price on three license renewals, equivalent to six years of use. So, eight pics at $40 each would be $320 with an extra $150 for the two year license agreement with a wide scope of use, for a total of $470. Now, to buy the copyright at the six year value that I gave it would be a total of $1,410.

Seems like quite a lot for eight pictures and I think would certainly effect their decision to use me again the future.

Does my pricing sound like it's where it needs to be?
I will add my website below so you can see the quality of my work.
www.wingsimaging.com

Thanks for all valuable insight in advance.

Last edited:
I think the first question should be, "Why do they think they need the copyright?" In today's climate, that probably would seem like a lot for eight images, but personally, I wouldn't turn over my copyright for many times that. If you do wind up doing this deal, make sure that you retain moral rights (or the equivalent for your country).