Lighting Problem

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by btferrar, Jul 21, 2008.

1. btferrar

btferrar TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am a beginner photographer and I just purchased a rather cheap lighting set to practice with. I bought 3 lights and stands that came with 2 white see through umbrellas. The lightbulbs that came with the kit are 6400k white perfect daylight bulbs. When I first used them to take practice pictures..I thought that the light was a little too white and made the subjects a bit blue and bright. I tried positioning them farther away but all that did was increase the shadowed areas. I want to take portraits that have natural soft skin tones etc..do I need to adjust my white balance on my camera or do I need different light bulbs. Also, can you just put any light bulbs in these kits, or only certain wattage?? As you can see I have lots of questions.
    thanks

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

Firstly, I assume you are shooting digital. In that case, you should be adjusting the White Balance on your camera...we really, you should be shooting in RAW and adjusting the White Balance later.

To start with, check your manual about setting a custom white balance. Go through that process to set and use a custom WB, that should do the trick, but it's still best to shoot in RAW.

Also, you need to be aware of all light sources that may be affecting your light (on the subject). If you are inside and have the room lights on, that could affect your color. You want to avoid mixing light types (temperatures)...because you can only be set to one temperature...so anything that differs from that, can cause a color shift.