Lighting Setup & Questions

BrookeJPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone!
I am new to this forum and I am hoping to learn a lot more! I am a natural light photographer! I shoot all my sessions outside and it has worked great! But I am starting to get into newborn photography and unfortunately the way my tiny apartment is set up I don't have the best natural light for this. I am trying to figure out what lighting system to buy? My living room is small so I wont need multiple lights.. I am thinking a lighting system with one large softbox? There are so many options my head spins :/

thank you so much!

As low as possible... Thank you for responding

None. Yet. You need to learn at the very least the basics of lighting before you run off and spend money, only to find out you made an inappropriate choice and need to buy other gear. Yes, a single large SB might be a good choice for a modier, but how much light, and what type do you want to "drive" it. Spend some time on YouTube and searching the web for "lighting tutorials", "basic studio lighting", and similar terms. There's a LOT to learn and an informed decision will save you a LOT of money!

Buckster- Lol I have done that a few times.. I am familiar with lighting and how it works.. There are just so many systems and options..

Buckster- Lol I have done that a few times.. I am familiar with lighting and how it works.. There are just so many systems and options..
One would think that if you are familiar with lighting and how it works, you would know..

Do you want monolights, speedlights, pack & head system?

What is your budget in actual figures; "as low as possible" means nothing since we have no idea of your budgetary constraints. The cheapest usable solution would be a single Flashpoint 320 with a 48" softbox.