Lightning photography...

marshall

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is post number one. Sorry I have to make it such a long one.

I'm new to the photography scene, and I purchased an HP Photosmart 850 4.1mp digital camera not too long ago for a very fair amount at the time. I also have a tripod I purchased. After some recent nighttime pictures, I'm starting to believe it may not have been the best choice for lightning photography. I'll link one of my better lightning shots from last night to show the details(you'll want to zoom in on the photo).

If you notice in the photo, a lot of places towards the lighter areas you can see the various pixels which are not realistic, but a combination of blues, reds, and greens. Is there simply no way of getting around this when using a digital camera?

I'm willing to purchase a fairly expensive camera for lightning photography, but one of my main concerns is a camera with less downtime in between frames, and much higher quality than this one. I lost many lightning shots last night as this camera takes a while to load between pictures, especially when taking an 8+ sec exposure.

Are there any digital cameras which will provide the utmost of quality and detail when taking low-light time exposures? I have thought about switching to a 35mm camera, but the cost would go up quite a bit due to the amount of time exposures which need to be taken. I appreciate advice anyone has to offer.

http://img283.echo.cx/my.php?image=lightning10do.jpg

Doc is right. Your camera looks to have major issues with low light situations. I have a D60 (canon) and I took all these lightning pics... (and many others, but these are the best) With no problems what so ever.

http://www.wxnut.net/lightning.htm

As well as all the pics on my site...

http://www.wxnut.net/

You can get a used D60 on ebay for about $750, or you can get a new 20D for around $1400.