Lightroom 6 or Photoshop - Please help

sec

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been wanting to improve my photo editing for some time now. All I have at the moment is the basic photo editing that came on my laptop. The more I read about each one the more confused I get. I have been leaning heavily toward Lightoom based solely on the price difference.

What photo editing software do you use, and what made you choose it over something else? What would you recommend I use if the decision was yours? My computer skills are basic at best so I am looking for something user friendly. I am not a professional and never will be, but I want my photos to look as good as possible. Something worthy of printing and framing. I shoot jpeg with a Canon 6D. I have never shot RAW mostly because I don't understand the system and don't think my editing ability is worth the trouble and extra work. But I guess that's where the point of this post comes in.

I use both lightroom and photoshop, though the vast majority of my photo editing is done in Lightroom. It's pretty good and easy to use, so I'd say get that if only want one.

Where Photoshop really excels is in more complex editing, graphic design and photo manipulation. So stuff like extensive cloning. I have used it before to remove people and cars from scenes I've shot. Lightroom is fine to patch small areas, like dust spots etc but lacks the ability to rebuild an area of an image.

Nowadays Adobe offer a subscription package for photogaphers at $10 per month for both Lightroom and Photoshop, though you can still buy a standalone version of Lightroom if you don't want a subscription.