Lightroom2 and Photoshop CS4

VaE39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking for an editing program to use for the future on my pictures. Right now I'm more of a contrast, crop, sharpen kind of guy but I'm willing to learn to do more drastic edits. I am a student and I am able to get 1 of the adobe programs: LR2 or PS. Lightroom2 is $99 dollars and Photoshop is $199. Which would you suggest for me in the future? From what I know LR2 is an easier to use program that offers me the basic abilities to edit while being able to open numerous files easier. PS is more extensive and complex but would require more experience.

CS4 is much more versatile and it's what I suggest you pick if you had to choose just one program.

I have both, and all I use PS for is framing the images and more drastic effects.

LR2 allows you to adjust most of the values of the images, and keeps everything organized.

I suggest demoing each of them (Adobe allows you to demo their software for 30 days) and then deciding. However, if I had to pick just one for majority of post processing, I'd go with LR2.

I suggest demoing each of them (Adobe allows you to demo their software for 30 days) and then deciding. However, if I had to pick just one for majority of post processing, I'd go with LR2.

+1

I've also used both and would say LR is the way to go if all you wanna do is produce some great PP'd photos. Yes PS is a more powerful tool but I would say it's easier to learn how to edit photos in LR. If you want significantly change your photos, then go to PS.

I'd get both. Though, I have both so that's not saying anything.

If I had to pick one, I'd go with PS, just for the more powerful tools. Way more powerful tools. Though, organization might be a little bit of a nightmarish prospect. Really, both programs work best with the other (well, as part of a photography workflow).