Limitations of 60mm Focal Length

ibclc2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am considering buying the relatively new Lumix LX-3 camera, and advanced point-and-shoot camera. What's novel about this camera is that the maximum focal length is 60mm. The camera offers great wide angle shots. The reviews I have read praise the camera for its quality and features.

My question is: How will the 60mm focal length limit me? I am a beginner.
I have heard, for example, that for portraits, the "sweet spot" is somewhere arounf 85mm to 105mm. Will the Lumix limitation get in the way of my taking portrait shots? What other issues might be a problem?

Here's a link to a review:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/PanasonicDMCLX3/

Should I avoid this camera because of the 60mm limit? Any comments or suggestions appreciated!

50mm is considered to give an angle of view roughly the same as that of the human eye - at least when shot on fullframe cameras.
For you this might or might not be a limitation - it really depends what you are after. To be honest I think the best thing is to go hold the camera in a shop and see how it feels and if it is too short for you. Also at the shop ask if you can take photos and have them burnt to a CD to take home to review - that way you can have a look at the quality of shot you get as well

Welcome to the forum.

It probably won't be too much of an issue.

Typically, yes...longer focal lengths are better for shooting people because of the flattening effect. Wide angles tend to accentuate the near/far distance, which doesn't usually look good for people.

I'm not sure how much this changes because we are talking about a small sensor camera and not a larger sensor or film...which is where the "85-100mm" recommendation comes from.