Long exposure advice

ichabod123456

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a question for the group. I am a beginner. Nikon D3200
I just recently purchased a set of ND filters from Amazon. Ranger is the brand.

Im either doing something wrong or the filters are junk (you get what you pay for)

Im using a 52mm lens, ISO on 100 and a f stop of 5.6. Bright daytime After taking a test shot, I put the ND10 filter on, turn the exposure down by 10 stops and the picture comes out washed out. Didn't seem to matter what I did the picture is washed out. I turned the exposure up to 1/2500 before I started getting any color at all
The closest I got to a blurred movement photos is when I stacked all four lenses for a total of ND 30.

I have covered the view finder
I'm shooting in the "raw"

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

washed out as in the image is all white?
then yes your exposure is too long, which lets in too much light. So shorten the exposure.

checking amazon, the Ranger kits come with ND2, 4, 8 and 16 (not 10).
$14 for 4 and a bag, cleaning kit, etc includes shipping. So yes, those ND filters are probably junk especially if they are plastic.

What are you trying to get blurred movement on ?? usually you use an ND2 if it's way to bright out, or getting to get movement blur in moving water as an example with the 4, 8, 16. may uses for them, can you provide an example?

You should be able to compare ND versus exposure. Take your shutter speed as fast as possible and Aperture as small (f/32 or larger number) and find the equivalent ND filter then compare the image quality of equivalent exposure.

I was taking a picture of a lake on a windy day
Another thing I remember. Sitting in my truck setting up the camera, I had the ND8 stacked with the ND2 and was putting tape on the viewfinder when I noticed movement. I could see though my view finder with a ND 10 filter on sitting inside my truck. That shouldn't be possible right?

Sent from my QTAIR7 using Tapatalk