Long exposure setting for Canon 20D?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by seemoo, Dec 7, 2006.

  1. seemoo

    seemoo TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi

    I recently went on a camping trip and wanted to take some long exposure pictures of the stars. I use the Canon 20D and I noticed that the longest exposure in Manual or Shutter Priority is 30sec. (it also has the "bulb" setting, but that requires keeping the button pressed; not very good for stable images)

    Is there a way of setting a longer custom exposure (for example 1, 2, 5 or 10 minutes)?

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    simon
     
  2. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,437
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Bulb mode with a [FONT=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]Canon Remote Switch RS-80N3 or a [/FONT][FONT=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]Canon Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3 if you want to spend big bucks.
    [/FONT]
     
  3. seemoo

    seemoo TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    thank you for your quick reply.

    wow, very expensive for such a simple piece of equipment. It seems to me that all those functions should already be included in the camera's software from the beginning.

    So what's the difference between the $50 the switch version RS-80N3 and the cheaper RS60 E3 ($17). Does anyone have some recommendations?

    thanks again

     
  4. David

    David TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you have a 20D you'll need the RS-80 N3, because the RS-60 E3 has a different 'plug' and is therefore not compatible. The 60 was designed as I remember to be compatible with the EOS 300 and 350 cameras, whereas the 80 is designed for the 1D's down to the 20d.

    The 80 N3 is worth the money, and has a lock down feature so you won't have to stand around and hold it for those long exposures.

    David
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    All you need is a remote with a lock down switch and a watch. I got one on E-bay...Adit was the 'brand' and it was made in China. It's not very robust...but it was cheap and it does the trick.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
canon 20d bulb exposure
,

canon 20d bulb mode

,
canon 20d bulb setting
,

canon 20d long exposure

,
canon eos 20d bulb mode
,
canon eos 20d long exposure
,
exposure, 20d
,
extended exposure on canon 20d
,
how do you set the bulb setting on a canon 20d
,
long exposure canon eos 20d