Looking at getting some filters, need advice

anm90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm looking at getting some filters once I get some money and would like some advice. I am just starting out in photography and have a Nikon D90 with the 18-105mm kit lens. I currently have no filters at all.

I am into landscape photography and enjoy sunsets and water photography. I have come up with a list of filter types that would be most useful for this lens.

UV Filter (protection?)
Circular Polarizer
Neutral Density (1?, 2, 3, and 4 stop filters) - What are the most commonly used values for these?
Graduated Neutral Density

Here is a link to a wishlist I made on B&H. They are all Tiffen filters except for the Grad ND setup which is from Cokin. Being extremely budget conscious and a hobbyist photographer, are these of sufficient quality to suit my needs?

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

That is a great list of filters, I don't see you needing any more that the ones that are on that list. That group will let you get your exposures under any conditions, and then if you want to expand on filters you can do it in post processing with photoshop and nik filters.

I wouldn't buy 1, 2, 3, and 4-stop ND filters. Seems like, at the very most, you could do 1, 2, 4 and combine the 1 and 2 for 3 if you really wanted all that. I have an ND 1.8 (which I think is 6 stops if I did my math right) and I have a 3.0 on my wish list (10 stops). I'll be putting the two together for some specialized applications.

Would I see vignetting if I stacked the filters though?

Honestly, if you are just starting out, you may want to wait a bit till you find you actually need the ND filters. I would recommend you get the Polarizer, and the GND, and wait and see. That's me, though.