Looking for a a backpack

matt_m

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a relative newbie. I'm trying to figure out a good bag strategy for myself which quickly became clear that a) I don't want to carry everything and b) no one bag is going to be best for different situations. I think I found a good bag I like for situations where I want a bag I can set down and pull things in and out in the Think Tank Retrospective 10. I like the flexibility there too since I can add 1 or two of their belt system components to the ends if I need a little more room. Doing that to carry two long lenses to softball games and its working out well. Bag sits by my wife and walk back and swap out gear.

One thing I've not figured out is some kind of backpack I can take where I'll be doing a lot of walking or biking. I find any kind of shoulder bag gets uncomfortable quick walking and biking a backpack is a must. I previously made the mistake of trying two different big bags. One, a Tamrac, was too big and not very flexible organizationally. The other, a Think Tank Airport series was a great flexible bag from an organizational perspective, but too big and boxy to be comfortable the way I want to use a backpack.

I think I'm looking for a similar capacity to the Retrospective 10, meaning depending on the activity I want to be able to carry a gripped D7100 and 2-3 other pieces including maybe 1-2 long lenses, 1-2 shorter lenses, a flash.

I want a really comfortable backpack with good padding, something not too rigid, and really nice straps--something like the average laptop backpack. One I've identified with some quick searching that might fit the bill is the Lowepro Flipside 300 but I'm sure there are others I should check out and am looking for advise.

The best camera bag strategy is to have multiple of them, for different occasions.