Looking for a camera.

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by shev, Dec 5, 2005.

1. shev

shev TPF Noob!

As I was going through ebay I noticed fujifilm are very cheap compared to the others. like the finepix s602. I dont need many megapixels for bigger pictures. 640x480 pixel sized standard photos should be fine. so 3.1-ish mega pixels should be enough. not having a lithium battery should only be a minor setback. but it says.... "dslr-like" so not slr? I read somewhere zlr? is there much of a difference? still real shudder and interchangeable lenses?

Well here's the stats:

but being a noob, I dont really have anything to compare those too, like a camera I know is good. I need a a constant I can compare all the variable cameras to. I need a camera for macro shots, scenery, and wildlife.

the konica minolta dimage z20 5.2 megapixel is also pretty darn cheap.

any advice would be great, thanks again. sorry for dumb questions, its hard to just "google" things like this. if you could just point me somewhere int he right direction that would be great too.

2. Rob

Rob TPF Noob!

An SLR is a single reflex camera, typically referring to 35mm film format cameras which until recently were pretty much the thing.

A dSLR is a digital version of the same, typically with an APS-C sized sensor (about 1.6x smaller than a 35mm neg)

A ZLR is a digital fixed lens camera, typically with a tiny tiny sensor and a very short lens. However, some of the more modern offerings now have APS-C sized sensors. The Fujis have always been pretty good for quality images, so if it's a cheap road in, then go for it!

Here's a review and specifications:
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujis602z/

3. shev

shev TPF Noob!

Thanks Rob.

it didnt say whether it was dslr, zlr or other.

bookmarked that page
    so