Looking for a camera

Stine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new at this photography thing. I want to make it a passion and hobby much like everyone else I have found on this website. I want to start off with a good camera...might as well go big if I'm going to do this... What does everyone recommend? On other posts I notice the Cannon EOS Reble Xti or the Nikon D40.... I am trying to stay in a buget of under 1000 for the camera and lenses.... I almost bought the Canon EOS Rebel XTi... I learned the hard way that if I go on line to get this Canon that it comes from Asia... I think I'm going to try a local store... :)

Haven't learned how to link threads yet, but I just put this on another thread. Hope it helps.

Depends on your budget. Aspirations are great, but reality is the ***** (can I say that here). Do a fair amount of research on the web for your tastes and budget. If you're going to NYC, stop by B&H here. Acutally hold each camera in your hand. I have only dealt with them on the phone, but if you search this site, you will find they are highly recommended and I endorse that sentiment. Their orders come fast and more importantly, well packed. IMO, UPS sucks (can I say that here), but they can't destroy how well B&H packs the parcels.

If you want a good book, there are many, but try "Understanding Exposure"
here and "Light: Science and Magic" here .

Of course, it might just be a case of enjoying hearing my own words tonight.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I recently had a similar decision to make. Definitely go to a local store and try out the cameras you are interested in. Ask questions. See which one 'feels' right to you. I went with the D40. Others have chosen something from Canon. It really comes down to personal preference with the cameras you are choosing between.