Looking for a DSLR and lense

pantherlax

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I know there are alot of threads on DSLRs but please help me out...

I am in high school and this is my first year of photography, and have been taking a photography class since September. I want to get a dSLR, but less than $700. I also dont want it to be too complicated and hard to use, good for a beginner but also something i would be able to use for awhile.

I'll be taking a variety of things, including landscapes, nightshots, and sports...

As for a lense, i want something thats flexible, adaptable. A kit lense and maybe another zoom lense...would be like $200?

I was thinking Nikon d50...and also what do you think of this lense [ame]http://www.amazon.com/o/ASIN/B0006HIJ2S/ref=s9_asin_image_1/105-2928363-1105228[/ame]
Would it be a little too advanced for me?

Thanks!

the 70-300 is a good budget lens. as long as you understand the limitations of variable apertures and small maximum apertures (slow glass) that will suit you fine.

As for ease of use, DSLRs will have modes that let the camera do all the work, either called auto or "green" mode. Also P mode will let the camera do most of the work, while still giving you some control as well.

Thanks for your response.
Yea i read up on all the modes; so any dslr would work for a beginner?

Yea i read up on all the modes; so any dslr would work for a beginner?
Pretty much. I suggest going into a store and holding the different models, the one that feels best to you (and is withing your budget) is probably the best one for you.

Pretty much. I suggest going into a store and holding the different models, the one that feels best to you (and is withing your budget) is probably the best one for you.

and by feel it isn't just how your hand fits it. It also has a lot to do with the features the camera has. you want to be able to switch your settings comfortably and relatively quickly, and overall it should just "feel" good to use it.