Looking for a lightweight telezoom.

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by dipstick, Jan 4, 2008.

1. dipstick

dipstick TPF Noob!

My 17-55mm is my workhorse, but every now and then a telezoom is nice to have. So far I've been hauling around Nikons 80-200 2.8, but on some assignments its simply too big to drag around all day, especially when I know that I'm not gonna use it.

So I'm looking for a lightweight telezoom that I can carry on me at all times. So far I found Tokinas 50-135mm 2,8, Sigmas 50-150mm 2,8.

Does any of you guys have experience with any of these, or other suggestions?

2. Sideburns

Sideburns TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The problem is the 2.8
    If you get a slower lens, it'll be much smaller and lighter.

3. photogincollege

photogincollege TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Ok this is solely going on photozone.de so just a disclaimer i have no experience with these lenses. They both seem pretty decent, though they say the tokina is made with more metal and is heavier if thats still a concern. The 80-200 2.8 is part of their pro glass correct? If so you might notice a drop in image quality but cant say for sure. Like i said this is purely info from photozone not my personal experience.

4. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What about the 70-300 VR?

5. dipstick

dipstick TPF Noob!

Sideburns: Yeah, I know 2,8 makes the lens bigger, slower could work as long as it's sharp. 2,8 would of course be nice

photogincollege: Nikons 80-200 is heavier than both the Sigma and Tokina, so I don't think either of them would be a problem when it comes to size and weight. I did my reading on photozone too, but I find it a bit hard to judge just from "lab" tests and not real life experience.

Big Mike: Yeah, I was just looking at that...