Looking for a new lens

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Happy4u, Oct 12, 2009.

1. Happy4u

Happy4u TPF Noob!

I'm to a point where I'm interested in getting a new lens. Right now I'm using the Canon 55mm kit lens. I'm looking for something that can give me a sharp focus. I've researched and see that some photographers use Canon's 50mm 1.8 or 1.4...would that be much different than what I'm using? Also what about the 85mm 1.8? I'm kinda married to my zoom lens, would I get used to a prime? Looking to spend anything around $400-$500. Any kind of feedback would be great! Thanks!

2. robertwsimpson

robertwsimpson No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    what are you looking to take pictures of? what situations? I have the 50mm 1.8.

3. Happy4u

Happy4u TPF Noob!

Oh sorry. I'm a portrait photographer. I shoot in studio and outdoors. I can produce nice photos with the kit lens but I've never tried anything different, so I don't know the difference. I was told the kit lens is very poor. So I'm to a point to be serious about photography so I'd like to venture out.

4. robertwsimpson

Photos NOT OK to edit
    for portraits you can't beat the 50 1.8

although I have heard from another portrait photographer that the 85 1.8 is better. I don't know why though, as I am constantly backing up with my 50.

at ~$100, the 50mm f1.8 would be my recommendation for you.

here are some samples:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. Happy4u

Happy4u TPF Noob!

Nice work! Have you tried the kit lens? Will I be able to see the difference with the 50mm 1.8 vs the kit? Will I get used to a nonzoom lens?

6. robertwsimpson

Photos NOT OK to edit